GPS Advice

Discussion in 'General Chat' started by SamIam33, Nov 1, 2007.

1. SamIam33

SamIam33 Well-Known Member

So, this is random, but I am thinking about buying a portable GPS device as a Christmas gift, and was wondering if anyone is an expert here. I am seriously considering the TomTom XL-S, its the new one out that comes with Text-to-Speech (it also has other cool features- mapshare, help me etc). I've heard nothing but good things about it, and I really like that it has TTS to you don't have to look down to see the the road names-- it calls them out for you. Anyone have suggestions?

2. Ludeykrus

Ludeykrus Senior member

I'm far from a GPS geek, but I have a lot of experience with them.

Personally, I would stay with Garmin. I have the Etrex Legend which IMO is the best bang-for-buck for handheld GPS's.

3. SamIam33

Really, what do you like about your Garmin? I have used the TomTom ONE and found it very easy to use... that's why I am considering the XL-S. Does the Ertreix Legend have Text-to-Speech and mapshare??

4. JayJay

JayJay Senior member

I have a Garmin 660 and find it to be easy to use. It actually is easier to use and faster than a built in system in one of my autos.

5. SamIam33

I have a Garmin 660 and find it to be easy to use. It actually is easier to use and faster than a built in system in one of my autos.

Yeah, I have one built in my car now, and the TomTom actually was easier to use that the in-dash one too. I was going to get the XL-S for my parents for Christmas since they don't have one built in, and I like that it has the TTS but isn't quite as expensive as some other models...

6. HomerJ

HomerJ Senior member

Everyone says Garmin Nuvi is the best. Better mount and more legible screen in sunlight than TomTom and slightly better routing. I think some will be cheap this Black Friday. I'm shopping for a Nuvi 350 for myself.

7. refreshtea

refreshtea Member

Garmin Nuvi > Tom Tom. Used both before.

8. onion

onion Senior member