1. Styleforum Gives - Holiday Charity Auction 11: Any Three (3) Customized Ties from Vanda Fine Clothing

We are very proud to present this year's edition of the Styleforum Holiday Charity Auctions, this year in support of the Ronald McDonald House Charities of Spokane (www.rmhcspokane.org). Each Auction lasts 24 hours. Please follow and bid on all the auctions.

The 11th auction of the year is for any three customized ties from Vanda Fine Clothing. Please bid often and generously here

Fok and the Styleforum Team.

Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice

STYLE. COMMUNITY. GREAT CLOTHING.

Bored of counting likes on social networks? At Styleforum, you’ll find rousing discussions that go beyond strings of emojis.

Click Here to join Styleforum's thousands of style enthusiasts today!

Formality Scale of Hats

Discussion in 'Classic Menswear' started by Dragon, Jul 4, 2006.

1. Dragon

Dragon Distinguished Member

I am new to hats, and am currently thinking of purchasing my first real hat. I am looking at several summer straw type hats that look like they would go well with suits or sportcoats.

As a newbie, I am wondering if there is a formality scale for hats (like peak lapel is more formal than notch lapel for suits). For example, is a larger brim more casual than a smaller? or is it OK to wear any shape/type of hat with suits or sportcoats?

2. LabelKing

LabelKing Stylish Dinosaur

For summer hats, a Panama is very versatile for casual sorts of outfits to even formalwear.

3. dressed2kill

dressed2kill Senior Member