• I'm happy to introduce the Styleforum Happy Hour, our brand new podcast featuring lively discussion about menswear and the fashion industry. In the inaugural edition, a discussion of what's going on in retail today. Please check it out on the Journal. All episodes will be also be available soon on your favorite podcast platform.

• STYLE. COMMUNITY. GREAT CLOTHING.

Bored of counting likes on social networks? At Styleforum, you’ll find rousing discussions that go beyond strings of emojis.

Click Here to join Styleforum's thousands of style enthusiasts today!

Fabric Quality and Brand Names

centsofstyle

Reaction score
I am fairly new to buying made to measure, custom, and bespoke suits. I was wondering, how can I tell which fabrics are the better quality ones? My tailor has actually shown me a couple of swatch booklets that have names on them, I have never heard of any of these names. Obviously some are more expensive than others, but I was wondering if there was a way to tell which ones are better quality?

I was also curious if anyone knew if it is possible to find out which fabrics high end brands and custom fitters use? Do they advertise that they use a specific brand of fabric? Is there anyway that I could find out which fabrics they use so that I could tell my tailor to make me a suit with that specific fabric?

Thanks!

in stitches

Kung Joo
Spamminator Moderator
Reaction score