East Bay Tailor - Bay Area, CA

Discussion in 'Classic Menswear' started by GusW, Mar 19, 2010.

1. GusW

GusW Senior member Dubiously Honored

I am on the search for a tailor in the East Bay who can tailor pants and jackets. Ideally they will be responsive to the subtleties of sleeve and pant length. Any suggestions?

2. lagsun

lagsun Senior member

I'm a noob when it comes to tailoring but I've been using Advanced European Tailoring on Addison in Berkeley (off Shattuck near University) recently to tailor a sportcoat, some pants and shirts. I'm happy with their work and their shop is sort of on my way to work. There are a number of reviews on Yelp and I think I saw them mentioned on SF when I did a search. Good luck.

3. Joenobody0

Joenobody0 Senior member

I've used the same tailor, as has my wife. I've never used a consensus "great" tailor so I can't say if he's one or not, but my alterations seemed to be adequate (though my jacket sleeves are still too long).

The tailor seems to know about construction, and advised me not to dry clean fused garments, so he at least has that going for him.

4. GusW

Were the jacket sleeves longer than what you asked for?

I don't like it when tailors, to be on the safe side, add a bit of length to sleeves and pant legs. That is very department store type of tailoring. I'm looking for something better.

I have used Oxford in SF for a long time, but I have to wait several weeks for things. The last two jobs weren't done when promised which didn't make me very happy. They also have raised their prices. And, if you are going to raise prices you better deliver on time, IMO.

Plus, I'm in Walnut Creek so an East Bay tailor would be handy.

5. Joenobody0

Joenobody0 Senior member