Dressing for a job interview with what I have

Discussion in 'Classic Menswear' started by sigg, Nov 15, 2009.

1. sigg

sigg New Member

Hi everyone,

I'm a fresh graduate and I've just got invited to an interview at a big consulting company. I don't really have a big formal wardrobe and I'm trying to put a nice outfit together.

I have a 2 button navy suit and black derby shoes. The problem is the shirt - after my move from university I only have 1 shirt that is suitable to wear with a suit. I know I should have more but i don't really have the money necessary for that. The shirt in question looks pretty much like this one:

http://www.tmlewin.co.uk/product.asp...peshirts!30445

(just without the white collar).

Is it ok to wear it to a job interview or should I buy a new one? What kind of tie should i wear with it? I have a plain satin navy blue one (a tad lighter than the suit). Would it go well with it?

Thanks for the help!

2. furo

furo Senior member

Shirt seems fine to me but if you go with a blue tie that might make it overly boring and weird: blue suit, blue shirt, blue tie

Maybe get a conservative repp tie that isn't very bold, just a tad bolder than the shirt.

Order of boldness should generally be: tie --> shirt --> suit

3. SkinnyGoomba

SkinnyGoomba Senior member

Buy a new one, White spread collar with barrel cuffs.

For the tie you want something soporific, something that looks nice but doesnt draw attention.

[​IMG]

If your interviewer is a younger woman, you might consider a purple based pattern.

4. forsbergacct2000

forsbergacct2000 Senior member

That shirt might be a bit much for an interview - especially for someone who is not a CEO yet. You would be better off with solid white or solid pale blue, even if you have to buy a cheap shirt. You will have the jacket and tie covering most of it anyway.

5. laughwithm3

laughwithm3 Senior member