• I'm happy to introduce the Styleforum Happy Hour, our brand new podcast featuring lively discussion about menswear and the fashion industry. In the inaugural edition, a discussion of what's going on in retail today. Please check it out on the Journal. All episodes will be also be available soon on your favorite podcast platform.

• Hi, we have updated our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy in anticipation of the upcoming new Calfornia laws, the CCPA. If you are a resident of California, these rights pertain to you. Thanks - Styleforum Team.
  • STYLE. COMMUNITY. GREAT CLOTHING.

Bored of counting likes on social networks? At Styleforum, you’ll find rousing discussions that go beyond strings of emojis.

Click Here to join Styleforum's thousands of style enthusiasts today!

Dress shoes and foot corns?

soupcxan

Reaction score
I have two pairs of AE shoes - Park Ave and Mcallister - both 10.5D (and both are the 5 last). I've been wearing them for about 3 years, alternating between them during the work week. Lately I have developed corns on the outside edge of my pinkie toes on both feet. Until these developed, the shoes seemed comfortable, but now they seem to be pressing on the exact spot with the corn, which hurts. The Mcallister seems to be more uncomfortable than the Park Ave. Looking inside the shoe, I can see that the inside leather is worn on the area adjacent to where my toes hurt. I drive to the office and I don't do much walking at work so not sure why this problem is developing. Generally the shoes feel like they have plenty of room inside - they are not crushing my feet. Before the AEs I had a pair of rubber-soled Eccos, which were very comfortable, but obviously not as nice to look at. I tried getting a thin pair of foam inserts for my shoes, but with the inserts in there was not enough room left to comfortably fit my feet.

Could my AEs be the wrong size or width for me? Do I need to get one of the AEs with a rubber sole? Appreciate any suggestions.