1. And... we're back. You'll notice that all of your images are back as well, as are our beloved emoticons, including the infamous :foo: We have also worked with our server folks and developers to fix the issues that were slowing down the site.

    There is still work to be done - the images in existing sigs are not yet linked, for example, and we are working on a way to get the images to load faster - which will improve the performance of the site, especially on the pages with a ton of images, and we will continue to work diligently on that and keep you updated.

    Cheers,

    Fok on behalf of the entire Styleforum team
    Dismiss Notice

Do I Want To Have My TV Professionally Calibrated?

Discussion in 'Fine Living, Home, Design & Auto' started by Lone Wolf, May 20, 2011.

  1. Lone Wolf

    Lone Wolf Senior member

    Messages:
    358
    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    • New Samsung PN64D7000, HD, 3D, Plasma, 64 inches
    • Room is 14'w x 24' l, ceiling is 10' high. TV is at the end of the room.
    • 4 windows, 2 on the right wall as you face the TV, 1 almost directly parallel to it, but the blinds are always closed
    • I don't watch sports or game. It's just TV and movies.
    • I don't own movies, so I don't have a DVD player. Between Netflix, Hulu, and Pay Per View, I'm good.

    So professional calibration seems to be running $150 and up.
    • Are there any do-it-yourself options, e.g., someplace where I can find generic specs that I can use?
    • If I did it myself would the quality of the picture it be significantly less than if I pay a pro?
    • Again, I don't have a DVD player so a disk with color bars, etc. isn't going to do me any good.

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. BrianVarick

    BrianVarick Senior member

    Messages:
    1,759
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2007
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    Calibrated like playing with the settings and stuff? In my opinion you aren't even watching high quality movies, so it would be a waste of money. If you were really into quality then maybe, but then you would probably be able to do it yourself.
     
  3. JohnGalt

    JohnGalt Senior member

    Messages:
    4,880
    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2009
    Location:
    Ouray, CO
  4. changy

    changy Senior member

    Messages:
    573
    Joined:
    May 9, 2008
    Look on AVS Forum, there might be calibration guides for that model. I calibrated my Panasonic myself using information from that site. It basically involves changing a few settings in a secret menu. If you can follow instructions, you can do it. IT VOIDS YOU WARRANTY.

    It is recommended that you run a few color screens for 100 hours before calibrating in order to make the colors settle in. Does your TV come with a USB port? you can download the files on to a USB and play it. With a 64 inch tv, you should really invest in a DVD player or blue ray or something
     
  5. Imhoff

    Imhoff Senior member

    Messages:
    2,799
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Location:
    Arizona
    Look on AVS Forum, there might be calibration guides for that model. I calibrated my Panasonic myself using information from that site. It basically involves changing a few settings in a secret menu. If you can follow instructions, you can do it. IT VOIDS YOU WARRANTY.

    It is recommended that you run a few color screens for 100 hours before calibrating in order to make the colors settle in. Does your TV come with a USB port? you can download the files on to a USB and play it. With a 64 inch tv, you should really invest in a DVD player or blue ray or something


    +1 on AVS Forum. Pretty extensive thread explains each model of televisions.

    Here is one for your Samsung Plasma

    Samsung PNxxDxxxx
     
  6. Lone Wolf

    Lone Wolf Senior member

    Messages:
    358
    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Calibrated like playing with the settings and stuff? In my opinion you aren't even watching high quality movies, so it would be a waste of money. If you were really into quality then maybe, but then you would probably be able to do it yourself.

    Why are you guys saying this - the majority of my satellite provider's movie channels are in HD and they even have some PPV stuff in 3D. Is Blu-ray that much better quality? And can you even rent DVD's anymore? The Blockbusters in my area closed months ago.

    Let me know your thoughts - I'm going to wall mount the TV soon and fish all the wires through the wall. It's going to be difficult, if not impossible, to retrofit a DVD player if I decide to get one after the fact.

    Thanks in advance.
     
  7. Lone Wolf

    Lone Wolf Senior member

    Messages:
    358
    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    +1 on AVS Forum. Pretty extensive thread explains each model of televisions.

    Here is one for your Samsung Plasma

    Samsung PNxxDxxxx


    Thanks. I'll check it out.
     
  8. otc

    otc Senior member

    Messages:
    14,209
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    Why are you guys saying this - the majority of my satellite provider's movie channels are in HD and they even have some PPV stuff in 3D. Is Blu-ray that much better quality?

    If you are asking this, then no...you do not need it professionally calibrated.
     
  9. Tokyo Slim

    Tokyo Slim Senior member

    Messages:
    19,179
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Location:
    Where Eagles Dare!
    Why are you guys saying this - the majority of my satellite provider's movie channels are in HD and they even have some PPV stuff in 3D. Is Blu-ray that much better quality?
    Short answer? Yes. Even the best broadcast HD is compressed more than Blu Ray, it has to be to be able to be transmitted efficiently to your home. What this means is when it's uncompressed at your house - it loses quality. Some Blu Ray is better than others, but generally speaking, it's higher quality than anything broadcast, and/or streamed. Not all HD is equal. Just because an image has the same number of pixels does not mean it's the same picture quality. If that makes sense. [​IMG] This is true even among Blu Rays. Older stuff is sometimes mastered poorly. A degraded image in HD is still degraded. But when they get it "right" - you will notice. (this is a basic explaination for a layman, I don't want to argue about specifics)
    It depends where you live. But the grocery store here rents dvds. And there is Redbox/etc. Though it's somewhat inconvenient. Also, the world's best video store is in Seattle, and I can still rent some VHS and possibly Laserdisks from them if I want, as well as DVD/BR - but that probably doesn't help you much. Though you probably have a neighborhood rental joint or two left. Unless you are in a really small town...
    It probably won't matter much to you, the ROI isn't great to pay someone to do it for you unless you are an uber picture nerd - which it seems you are not. Take the advice and look at AVS for reccommended settings. And you can always fish one more hdmi cable in the future. It's not that hard/impossible. [​IMG]
     
  10. Tokyo Slim

    Tokyo Slim Senior member

    Messages:
    19,179
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Location:
    Where Eagles Dare!
    At least, for God's sake - turn off any smooth motion crap that comes built into your tv. Only useful for making everything look like a damn soap opera.
     
  11. imageWIS

    imageWIS Senior member

    Messages:
    20,008
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
    Location:
    New York City / Buenos Aires
    At least, for God's sake - turn off any smooth motion crap that comes built into your tv. Only useful for making everything look like a damn soap opera.

    This.
     
  12. Tokyo Slim

    Tokyo Slim Senior member

    Messages:
    19,179
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Location:
    Where Eagles Dare!
    I was laughing at my factory settings when I got my new tv. 240hz + interpolative smooth motion + "image enhancer" = lulz.
     
  13. yirayira

    yirayira Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    89
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    Location:
    Milwaukee, WI
    Why are you guys saying this - the majority of my satellite provider's movie channels are in HD and they even have some PPV stuff in 3D. Is Blu-ray that much better quality? And can you even rent DVD's anymore? The Blockbusters in my area closed months ago.

    Let me know your thoughts - I'm going to wall mount the TV soon and fish all the wires through the wall. It's going to be difficult, if not impossible, to retrofit a DVD player if I decide to get one after the fact.

    Thanks in advance.


    Neither Cable, Satellite, nor Over The Air Broadcasting operates at 1080P. At 64 inches it might be worth the upgrade - a decent Blu-ray can be had for around $150 and the Blu-ray discs is only a couple dollars more a month from Netflix.
     
  14. Stewie

    Stewie Senior member

    Messages:
    525
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    I paid it and couldnt see any difference....so....just take off the motion stuff and save the money for the blu-ray player.


    D
     
  15. darnelled

    darnelled Senior member

    Messages:
    336
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Look on AVS Forum, there might be calibration guides for that model. I calibrated my Panasonic myself using information from that site. It basically involves changing a few settings in a secret menu. If you can follow instructions, you can do it. IT VOIDS YOU WARRANTY.

    It is recommended that you run a few color screens for 100 hours before calibrating in order to make the colors settle in. Does your TV come with a USB port? you can download the files on to a USB and play it. With a 64 inch tv, you should really invest in a DVD player or blue ray or something


    How is the warranty voided?
    Aren't you just adjusting things in the menu that they out there for this purpose?
     
  16. sonick

    sonick Senior member

    Messages:
    6,031
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2003
    Location:
    Vancouver
    If you only watch it from TV, professional calibration is overkill since the source levels will likely vary from channel to channel anyways.

    If you watch a lot of Blu Ray and DVD in a home theater, a professional ISF-Certified Calibration would be beneficial.

    As others have said, turn off any smooth-motion stuff, also turn off any "Noise Reduction" or "Sharpness/Edge Enhancer" features. Also turn the sharpness down to Zero, it is unnessary and all it does is produce unnatural looking glow/halos around objects for the illusion of sharpness.

    If your TV has an SD card slot, perhaps download some test patterns online and load them up to adjust your settings. It won't be 100% accurate but you'll get it in the ballpark.

    As for voiding the warranty, a lot of in-depth and professional calibration goes into the TV's service menu, designed only to be accessed by service technicians. Going into there yourself and tweaking them without knowing what you are doing can potentially permanently damage your TV.
     
  17. patrickBOOTH

    patrickBOOTH Senior member Dubiously Honored

    Messages:
    33,333
    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Location:
    New York City
    What does smooth motion do?
     
  18. sonick

    sonick Senior member

    Messages:
    6,031
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2003
    Location:
    Vancouver
    What does smooth motion do?

    It somehow artificially ups the frame-rate or does something to make it LOOK like the frame-rate is up and makes it look all weird.

    You ever notice Soap Operas always look a tad different than regular TV shows, or TV shows to movies?
     
  19. QBNCGAR

    QBNCGAR Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    82
    Joined:
    May 13, 2011
    We installed some Panasonic plasma displays recently in my office, and ran a calibration program through them. We didn't need to do jack squat. Same with a Mitsubishi DLP. It even came with little colored filters (gels) to look through for blue, red, and green color settings. They were perfect out of the box.

    Not all digital displays have adjustments to correct deficiencies you may find anyway. Computer displays can make a bit more use out of this and can benefit from calibration hardware/software where color accuracy is crucial (i.e. designing for print media or video mastering), but the fine tuning is done on the computer (source), not the monitor.
     
  20. lefty

    lefty Senior member

    Messages:
    9,569
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2006
    I'll post this in here to save a new post.

    Help me set up my TV/DVR/modem/roku/blue ray player.

    Using comcast for service. Just noticed that the apt has only one cable jack in an awkward place. I need to split this and run one to the cable box and the other to the modem. Any advantage to the higher rated splitter or cables?

    The HD DVR they gave me doesn't have an HDMI port and I don't have component cables. I may be able to exchange the DVR for one with both HDMI and component, but what delivers a better signal - HDMI or component? I guess I could connect the cable box to the TV via component and use HDMI for both the DVD player and the roku.

    Thoughts?

    lefty
     

Share This Page

Styleforum is proudly sponsored by