• STYLE. COMMUNITY. GREAT CLOTHING.

    Bored of counting likes on social networks? At Styleforum, you’ll find rousing discussions that go beyond strings of emojis.

    Click Here to join Styleforum's thousands of style enthusiasts today!

Computer Crash

Bradford

Current Events Moderator
Joined
Mar 19, 2002
Messages
6,717
Reaction score
169
OK - for all you more computer savvy folks out there than me, I need some help.

I was playing Second Life last night and my system froze up and wouldn't let me log off. I killed the power, but when I went to restart it just gives me a blue screen.

I've tried loading Windows in Safe Mode as well, but it just comes up blank.

I can get a DOS screen, so I think it might be the video driver in Windows is just overloaded. Is there anything I can do in DOS to fix this?

HELP!!!!
 

v0rtex

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 16, 2004
Messages
599
Reaction score
2
Originally Posted by Bradford
...when I went to restart it just gives me a blue screen.

I've tried loading Windows in Safe Mode as well, but it just comes up blank.

I can get a DOS screen, so I think it might be the video driver in Windows is just overloaded. Is there anything I can do in DOS to fix this?


What's the text on the blue screen say? Important details are any filename in the text (usually a .SYS or .DLL file), error messages or error ID numbers.
 

skalogre

Distinguished Member
Joined
Mar 9, 2006
Messages
6,323
Reaction score
4
Woah, nice. XP Pro or XP Home?
You have a few options. You could look at running a repair of XP; if you can run the recovery consile you could repair it that way also.
However, there is one more possibility. When you say the screen is blue, does it let you log in then give you a blank desktop?
 

Bradford

Current Events Moderator
Joined
Mar 19, 2002
Messages
6,717
Reaction score
169
Yes - it's just a blank blue desktop - no icons visible.

Can't actually get to the select users screen so that I can log-in under an individual user.
 

j

(stands for Jerk)
Admin
Spamminator Moderator
Joined
Feb 17, 2002
Messages
14,912
Reaction score
100
You can get a DOS screen? What version of Windows are you running?
 

Bradford

Current Events Moderator
Joined
Mar 19, 2002
Messages
6,717
Reaction score
169
Originally Posted by j
You can get a DOS screen? What version of Windows are you running?

XP - I think...
 

j

(stands for Jerk)
Admin
Spamminator Moderator
Joined
Feb 17, 2002
Messages
14,912
Reaction score
100
I'd love to be a superstar here and tell you exactly what you need to do, but until we know more about it, I'll just pre-empt anyone by saying the obvious:

Buy a Mac.
 

skalogre

Distinguished Member
Joined
Mar 9, 2006
Messages
6,323
Reaction score
4
Originally Posted by j
I'd love to be a superstar here and tell you exactly what you need to do, but until we know more about it, I'll just pre-empt anyone by saying the obvious:

Buy a Mac.


OMG where is Tokyo Slim? J is trying to get him to switch to the pearlescent white side! Resist the evil, Brad
 

Steve B.

Go Spurs Go
Joined
Mar 2, 2002
Messages
10,304
Reaction score
126
Can you imagine the "discussions" J and Slim have about computing?
 

SGladwell

Distinguished Member
Joined
Mar 11, 2006
Messages
1,257
Reaction score
0
Originally Posted by j
Buy a Mac.

Won't help him. He was playing a game. Maybe it's available for the Mac, but probably not. So the only thing he'd be able to do is Boot Camp his new Mac into Windows. True, then he'd have a beautiful machine. But he'd have the same garbage on the screen that he does now. If not right away, then soon enough.
 

Brian SD

Moderator
Joined
Feb 5, 2004
Messages
9,760
Reaction score
124
Bradford, first step would be to open the BIOS and revert to safe/optimal settings if you have the option to do so, and see if this fixes it. If you don't have this option, don't worry about it. The next thing I would do is start yanking parts out and running on a barebones set-up. Try it with just HD / Video card / one stick of RAM... no sound card, no network card, etc. etc.. (don't bother pulling out CD drives, they're rarely ever the culprit of this issue). If it works, start putting things in one by one until it fails start up again. IMO, it sounds like a bad or burnt out part. If it was a simple video driver issue, you would still be able to get into safe mode because Win wouldn't be loading the drivers to get in. BTW, Second Life is out on Mac.
 

Bradford

Current Events Moderator
Joined
Mar 19, 2002
Messages
6,717
Reaction score
169
It seems to be a Windows issue. I am running XP Home, but the problem is, I don't have a Windows disk from Microsoft.

All I have is the program/recovery disks from EMachines who manufactured my machine. If I run those to reinstall Windows, I will lose all of the data on my hard drive.

At this point, it appears the only option is to install an additional hard drive, load Windows to that drive and use it to access the hard drive with the data.

That is - unless someone else has a better idea...
 

sonick

Distinguished Member
Joined
Mar 11, 2003
Messages
6,031
Reaction score
485
Originally Posted by Bradford
It seems to be a Windows issue. I am running XP Home, but the problem is, I don't have a Windows disk from Microsoft.

All I have is the program/recovery disks from EMachines who manufactured my machine. If I run those to reinstall Windows, I will lose all of the data on my hard drive.

At this point, it appears the only option is to install an additional hard drive, load Windows to that drive and use it to access the hard drive with the data.

That is - unless someone else has a better idea...

I dont know if the recovery disks have it, but the regular versions of Windows install discs have a "repair' install option that replaces all the system files but leaving the apps/data intact, you may want to try that.
 

j

(stands for Jerk)
Admin
Spamminator Moderator
Joined
Feb 17, 2002
Messages
14,912
Reaction score
100
Originally Posted by sonick
I dont know if the recovery disks have it, but the regular versions of Windows install discs have a "repair' install option that replaces all the system files but leaving the apps/data intact, you may want to try that.
Ditto. You could also buy a full copy of XP and install a full new install on the old drive in a new directory. This would at least avoid having to buy a new hard drive.
 

Styleforum is proudly sponsored by

Featured Sponsor

How did Covid-19 impact your personal style?

  • My style hasn't changed at all.

  • My wardrobe hasn't changed but I am wearing casual clothes more often.

  • I invested in new good quality leisure and casual clothes.

  • I invested in new sartorial clothes taking advantage of the sales.

  • I purged my closet during quarantine and I have nothing left to wear.


Results are only viewable after voting.

Related Threads

Forum statistics

Threads
444,529
Messages
9,608,266
Members
200,883
Latest member
ossa28
Top