Complete denim newbie seeks advice

Discussion in 'Streetwear and Denim' started by Holdfast, May 8, 2006.

1. Holdfast

Holdfast Senior member

And I mean a complete denim newbie - I used to be a fair bit overweight, so the idea of tight jeans horrified me! [​IMG] I've since lost the excess weight and got into better shape but believe it or not never really got round to buying a pair of jeans...

So I'm completely new to denim and toying with the idea of buying a pair. But the range is staggering. I'm looking to the experts to point me in the right direction in terms of the different brands' fits and which they'd recommend for me.

A bit of background - I certainly don't want anything paint-stained, ripped, torn or otherwise heavily distressed. Some light wear is fine. From what I've read I don't think raw denim is right for me; sounds like too much trouble for me.

I'm in my (very) late twenties so can't pull off a "hip young thing" look; I just want something slightly more casual and slightly younger looking than my regular chinos, etc. A dark blue rather than a sky blue please.

I'm a 31" waist, fairly wide hips with fairly muscular thighs and calves so can't have anything "skinny". Re: the legs, I also don't want a flared look. Tapering I doubt I could pull off with my figure; for what it's worth my suits have a 17-17.5" cuff circumference and I'm happy with that. I guess that's a straight leg. I also have a short inseam of about 28" (should jeans be longer than regular trousers?)

Price not really an issue to be honest, but nothing totally insane please!

I appreciate this post is much more basic - and boring -than the usual discussion, but please take a moment to help this suit-savvy but denim-desperate guy out! Thanks! What brands and sizes should I be looking for?

2. DNW

DNW Senior member