College Branding on Cars/Shirts, etc.

Discussion in 'Social Life, Food & Drink, Travel' started by rockket, Jan 1, 2008.

1. rockket

rockket Senior member

What's the opinion on college decals on cars or wearing shirts/sweatshirts emblazoned with your college name? Tacky?

What if the college name is considered "prestigious?" I'm an undergrad right now, and I feel fine wearing my stuff around campus, but I was trying to buy some college-themed gifts for my parents and ran into this conundrum. I'd like to show some school spirit once in a while, but I don't want to come off as pretentious.

Thoughts?
    Thanks,
    RK

2. leftover_salmon

leftover_salmon Senior member

I'm proud of the school I go to, so I have no issue wearing clothing with the name on it. And my dad is also proud, so he wants stuff too.

3. VKK3450

VKK3450 Senior member

I went to what would probably be considered one of the most prestigious schools in the world, but I only use my old college shirts to sleep in and hang about the house these days.

I think if you are currently attending then fair enough wearing them around campus, but I would prob only want to wear them to functions / events of a sporting nature. Once you graduate, retire them to sleepwear / workout / cooking breakfast on a Sunday morning

K

4. rach2jlc

rach2jlc Prof. Fabulous Dubiously Honored

I'd say don't sweat it. Be proud of your school and of your hard work and wear/use the items with pride, if that's your thing (likewise, if it would make your parents happy, get them something, too).