Chalk stripes, and moving beyond the basic solid suit

Discussion in 'Menswear Advice' started by Parterre, May 14, 2016.

1. Parterre

Parterre Well-Known Member

I'm currently seeking to expand my business wardrobe beyond the standard solid navy and charcoal, and I'm wondering as to the appropriateness of chalk stripes in particular and more generally what I should consider branching out into. I work in the inter-governmental/IR field, and while I do not get the sense that there are the same kind of unspoken strictures about who is entitled to wear what like those that exist in law and finance, business attire is de rigeur, perhaps to a greater degree than those industries. There are definitely certain kinds of clothes that I can imagine would draw (undesired) attention to someone below a certain rank within the organization. So where is the line drawn, exactly?

I started out with two LRL suits bought at Century 21-- one charcoal, one navy. Having read all about the intricacies of tailoring: canvassing vs fusing, the relative (in)formality of patch pockets and hacking pockets, the difference between a 3-roll-2 and a 3-roll-2.5 (the latter to which I am quite partial yet remains well out of my reach...), etc., etc, there were about a thousand things I could find wrong with them, but as someone with no money and no proper suits, they did the job well enough considering the price. Still, there were obviously better options out there, and so once I was able, I bought two BB 1818 line suits to add to my rotation-- again, solid navy and solid charcoal, two button, Regent fit.