1. Hi, I'm the owner and main administrator of Styleforum. If you find the forum useful and fun, please help support it by buying through the posted links on the forum. Our main, very popular sales thread, where the latest and best sales are listed, are posted HERE

    Purchases made through some of our links earns a commission for the forum and allows us to do the work of maintaining and improving it. Finally, thanks for being a part of this community. We realize that there are many choices today on the internet, and we have all of you to thank for making Styleforum the foremost destination for discussions of menswear.

Canadian College Junior Looking at HBS 2+2 and GSB Deferred

Discussion in 'Business, Careers & Education' started by CanadianANON, Nov 4, 2016.

  1. CanadianANON

    CanadianANON New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2016
    I've done some reading on Poets & Quants and other forums, but I'd like a little more specific help. I am a junior in college (in Canada) and I am looking at the HBS 2+2 and GSB deferred programs. I'd like to set myself up as best as possible for an application next year. I am interested in eventually pursing an MBA to transition from a banking role to a more entrepreneurial role (think search fund). I have some questions about my profile, how to prepare for the GMAT, and any other advice.
    I'll give you some of my stats/background first.
    Demographics
    Age: 22 (took two gap years before undergrad)
    Nationality/Race: Canadian Aboriginal (aka Native American)
    Sex: Male
    Academics
    School: Business major at a top Canadian school
    GPA: 3.9/4.0
    GMAT: ...Currently preparing for
    Experience
    - Sophomore internship in S&T at a 'Big 5' Canadian bank
    - Junior internship in IB at a 'Big 5' Canadian bank (this coming summer)
    - Will likely be working ~2yrs in IB at a Canadian bank after graduation
    Other
    - Running the leading finance related club on campus which has a competitive entry process and proven/tangible returns/research/alumni
    - Took two gap years after highschool to determine what I truly want to do with my life and work to help pay for my education
    - Founded a non-profit society after highschool and undertook an interesting fundraising event (think running across the country or something similar) for a chronic disease from which I suffer
    My questions are the following:
    1. How does my profile look?
    2. How can I improve my profile?
    3. What are the hands-down best study methods/resources for the GMAT (to score 730+)?
    4. Do you have any other advice? Am I totally off-base to try for a top U.S. B-School?
    Please let me know if anything needs clarification.
     

Share This Page

Styleforum is proudly sponsored by

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.