Can I include member of political group in resume?

Discussion in 'General Chat' started by J Darnielle, Mar 21, 2010.

1. J Darnielle

J Darnielle Senior member

It's for an internship, not a job. I'm a member of the Young Democrats at my school. I would be adding it alongside a couple of other random clubs that I'm in. Also feel free to list anything else that I could put in an internship resume, but not a job resume.

2. kwilkinson

kwilkinson Having a Ball

Why do you think your resume for an internship should be any different than your resume for a job?

3. oneeightyseven

oneeightyseven Almost Special

tell them that you're a member of styleforum.

4. J Darnielle

Why do you think your resume for an internship should be any different than your resume for a job?

I don't know. I just assumed they'd be more interested in extra bullshit that I've done on campus than a job would. And I have extra space to fill since I have no "Work Experience" to speak of.

5. Connemara

Connemara [URL='http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6jST2Sv63WQ']

Yes. Unless you're applying to be Liz Cheney's assistant, put it on there.

6. J Darnielle

tell them that you're a member of styleforum.

Senior Member, you mean.

7. hossoso

hossoso Coward and P*ssy

I might list my SF members status if I ever need a resume again. I'll also put "If you are a Republican this interview is over. I don't care what you do with your time but don't waste mine" at the bottom of the page.

8. Nouveau Pauvre

Nouveau Pauvre Senior member

I include a picture of my member in my resume.

9. Harold falcon

Harold falcon Senior member

You take a risk that the person reviewing your resume is a Republican and wouldn't hire you exactly for that reason.