Can a man live without plaintoe black bals for formal suit appearances?

Discussion in 'Classic Menswear' started by josepidal, Sep 13, 2006.

1. josepidal

josepidal Senior member

When I bought black oxfords, I chose EG cap toes with broguing over plain toes, not really giving weight to how plain toes are the more formal choice (and black shoes are formal shoes).

I noticed that the Purple Label looks all feature the Grant monkstrap, which has broguing. While I understand these are somewhat fashion forward, might my current shoes serve me well enough such that I'll never need to buy another pair of black cap toes unless I need another just for rotation purposes? (I'm a lawyer.)

2. whoopee

whoopee Senior member

3. Sator

Sator Senior member

When I bought black oxfords, I chose EG cap toes with broguing over plain toes, not really giving weight to how plain toes are the more formal choice (and black shoes are formal shoes).

I noticed that the Purple Label looks all feature the Grant monkstrap, which has broguing. While I understand these are somewhat fashion forward, might my current shoes serve me well enough such that I'll never need to buy another pair of black cap toes unless I need another just for rotation purposes? (I'm a lawyer.)

Yes of course you can live without a pair of plain toe Oxfords. You can wear opera pumps.

If you choose to disregard these two options, fear not once again - for everyone else will be wearing all sorts of bizarre shoewear and you will fit right in with them wearing shoes with broguing on them. [​IMG]

4. sho'nuff

sho'nuff grrrrrrrr!!

i say opera pumps are for the fat lady that sang.
    go buy yourself a plain toe shoe with a mirror polish. preferably with a thin sole cut close to the upper.

5. Nantucket Red

Nantucket Red "Mr. Fashionista"

6. NoVaguy

NoVaguy Senior member

You do understand that formal means dinner jacket and pants, a.k.a. a tuxedo?