Buying and Selling on eBay: Tips, Tricks, Problems & Questions

Discussion in 'Classic Menswear' started by HansderHund, Jul 27, 2012.

  1. Mox C

    Mox C Senior member

    Messages:
    406
    Likes Received:
    38
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2012
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    

    I think it would probably be fine for shoes and anything you will be shooting at fairly close range, like pants on a whiteboard. If you are putting a suit on a mannequin, you might have to use a tripod for the camera. Depends on how steady your hands are. A weak light source matters a lot less if you use a tripod. You just have to make sure you don't have another light source nearby that can mess up the color balance. (A pro strobe system would just overpower any existing ambient light.)

    You won't be able to vary the power output with a dial, but you can just move one light further back. If you double the distance, you cut the effective brightness by 1/4.
     


  2. New Shoes1

    New Shoes1 Senior member

    Messages:
    4,114
    Likes Received:
    2,649
    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2011
    It does not say on the envelope, but measures to about 9.5 x 12. The seller had it originally listed BIN for several hundred and then put it up for auction where I was the only bidder, so this might be an FU for my getting his Canali sportcoat for $40.
     


  3. Steve Smith

    Steve Smith Senior member

    Messages:
    2,999
    Likes Received:
    422
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    

    That package doesn't appear to contain a sport coat which has been rolled into a ball. Properly folded, and judging by the appearance of that bag it is properly folded, a jacket will arrive in better condition in that envelope than it would in a Priority Mail 1095 or Flat Rate Medium box because the boxes are too large, allowing the jacket to move around and be jammed against one end.
     
    Last edited: Nov 6, 2012


  4. New Shoes1

    New Shoes1 Senior member

    Messages:
    4,114
    Likes Received:
    2,649
    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2011
    1. Very much was rolled into a ball and crammed in the envelope.

    2. You are the master when it comes to shipping sportcoats and suits, but ones I've received in boxes have come through much nicer than this one did.
     


  5. Steve Smith

    Steve Smith Senior member

    Messages:
    2,999
    Likes Received:
    422
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    Just to beat a dead horse a little more, here are pics of a properly folded blazer on top of and inside a 12 x 15.5 Tyvek envelope. There is no advantage to putting it into a box instead, because this will travel perfectly. It is not stuffed in but it fills the space. That said, the envelope your seller used is a bit small IMO.

    [​IMG][​IMG]
     


  6. VLSI

    VLSI Senior member

    Messages:
    6,033
    Likes Received:
    2,479
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2011
    Why wouldn't you put it in a box? It costs the exact same and provides extra protection.
     


  7. Steve Smith

    Steve Smith Senior member

    Messages:
    2,999
    Likes Received:
    422
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    1. I do put sport coats in a box, but only because I think a buyer would think that it is improperly packed if in an envelope. I do not agree, but there is no point in fighting that perception with my buyers.

    2. It doesn't cost the same. The Tyvek envelope is about 6.5 ounces lighter than the USPS 1095 box. Both ship by weight, in one pound increments. So the box will put the shipped weight over the next pound increment about 40% of the time compared to the envelope.

    3. The box is easier to cut or puncture and it absorbs moisture. The perception may be that it provides more protection, but I disagree.
     


  8. VLSI

    VLSI Senior member

    Messages:
    6,033
    Likes Received:
    2,479
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2011
    Regional rate a box. I put it in a bag in the box, not just in the box bare.
     


  9. grendel

    grendel Senior member

    Messages:
    2,672
    Likes Received:
    128
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2011
    Location:
    Upstate NY


  10. Orgetorix

    Orgetorix Senior member

    Messages:
    3,051
    Likes Received:
    3,932
    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Location:
    Louisville, KY
    

    Even though they're "daylight balanced?" What kind of lighting would you use?
     


  11. grendel

    grendel Senior member

    Messages:
    2,672
    Likes Received:
    128
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2011
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    Fluorescent lights don't produce a full-spectrum of light, just bands of frequencies. Incandescent produce a more even spectrum weighted to a cooler temperature (warmer color) than natural light.

    Here's a compact fluorescent spectrum:

    [​IMG]


    Here's an incandescent spectrum:
    [​IMG]

    The holes in the fluorescent spectrum will lead to certain colors being under-represented and it's not really fixable in processing

    I would use a flash, natural light, or studio lights. Flash or studio lights are the easiest to control.
     


  12. Mox C

    Mox C Senior member

    Messages:
    406
    Likes Received:
    38
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2012
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    Thanks, Grendel. I completely forgot about that. They call them 6500K lights because they average 6500K, even if there are holes in their spectrum.

    Incandescent lights get hot, so there are compromises with always-on lights. You give up something if you use lights that aren't flash/strobes.
     


  13. Orgetorix

    Orgetorix Senior member

    Messages:
    3,051
    Likes Received:
    3,932
    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Location:
    Louisville, KY
    Are there better lights I could buy that would be relatively affordable? I need at least a couple, preferably three to do 3-point lighting, and don't want to spend more than $100 or so if I can help it. I don't have a flash, and for the foreseeable future will be shooting with either a very basic point-and-shoot with limited manual capabilities or my iPhone 5 (which does all right as long as you give it enough light).
     


  14. grendel

    grendel Senior member

    Messages:
    2,672
    Likes Received:
    128
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2011
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    I'd look for a Vivitar 285 on eBay... Should be doable for around $40. Get a hotshoe adapter with a cable port and a long cable. You don't need 3 lights. I light all of mine with one Vivitar flash on a stand pointed at the wall / ceiling, but you could try setting the flash on a table or counter pointed in the right direction.
     


  15. Mox C

    Mox C Senior member

    Messages:
    406
    Likes Received:
    38
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2012
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    You won't get into strobes that cheaply unless you find something used on eBay. I lucked out and found a little-used two-light set for $130 shipped, about half off new. Unless you want to do other things besides eBay shots, I agree with Grendel that a flash is more cost effective if you have a camera that can use it.

    Grendel, can you slave the 285? If not, I'm not sure how you would trigger it via a P&S.
     


Share This Page

Styleforum is proudly sponsored by