Dismiss Notice

STYLE. COMMUNITY. GREAT CLOTHING.

Bored of counting likes on social networks? At Styleforum, you’ll find rousing discussions that go beyond strings of emojis.

Click Here to join Styleforum's thousands of style enthusiasts today!

Business casual on a budget

Discussion in 'Classic Menswear' started by southbound35, May 9, 2006.

1. southbound35

southbound35 Senior member

I've been working in banking for the past six years, so my wardrobe is very suit/odd pants/dress shirt/tie heavy.

I believe I'm going to accept a position with a company that is business casual. Most of the men I saw were wearing cotton chinos and sportshirts similar to what Polo offers in the $50-100 range.

I'd prefer to stick with nicer trousers than cotton chinos and dressier-looking shirts. I intend to lose some weight over the next several months, so I don't want break the bank on high-end clothing that won't fit next year. Any suggestions on where I can buy good-looking/fitting shirts in the sub-$75 range (I'm not a fan of button-down collars, so BB has limited options)? Pants in the sub-$125 range?

Cross posted on AAAC

2. johnapril

johnapril Senior member

Brooks Brothers

3. Duveen

Duveen Senior member

Second the Brethren as a good source.

They are nicer-than-average but neither too expensive nor too showy. I work in a very business casual workplace and have a lot of BB basics.

I'd stay away from BB for shirts, but they are good for pants (altho' the cut is a bit generous) and sweaters (a key accesory in biz casual - I like V-necks). Don't wear polo shirts unless it is required by the company dress code. A crisp buttondown dress shirt is almost never the wrong answer.

4. Jovan

Jovan Banned for Good

Brooks Brothers is too expensive for people like me for sure...

5. coachvu

coachvu Senior member

If you can wait, try Nordstrom. They periodically have huge sales, and you can find nice shirts well within your range.

6. philosophe

philosophe Senior member