Bright-Colored Sportcoats: Did I Make A Bad Buy?

Discussion in 'Classic Menswear' started by RatherAnOddball, Dec 12, 2008.

1. RatherAnOddball

RatherAnOddball Senior member

I bought two sportcoats from STP for $60 apiece. I'm an art student and I live in Florida, if those qualities are at all helpful in determining whether these coats aren't poor purchases for me. Coat's webpage: http://www.sierratradingpost.com/p/0...t-For-Men.html Direct link to large image: http://img.sierratradingpost.com/ere...ize&redirect=0 One in rust (pictured above, if the link works as intended, but I think a better descriptor would be "coral" or "salmon") and another in a hefeweizenish yellow, which can be viewed by clicking the appropriate links on the coat's webpage. With cream colored, pale pastel colored or light-and-striped trousers (like seersucker) brown spectators, and white linen or contrasting-color silk pocket squares (e.g., yellow sportcoat gets blue PS) I thought they might be rather nice for daytime socializing and strolling. Sound sound? Am I being goofy? It's so unlike what I see in photos from you lot, but I gather that most of you are professionals of a social class one or two rungs above my own, so your needs will be rather different. I wanted something that was smart, but not too serious. Thanks for your help.

2. JohnnyLaw

JohnnyLaw Senior member

If you like them and will wear them, you made a good purchase.

3. DocHolliday

DocHolliday Senior member Dubiously Honored

I would almost never have an opportunity to wear those coats, but I don't live in Florida. That, I think, is the reason you see so little of such things in WAYW. You'd get as little use out of my tweeds.

For $60, they strike me as perfectly fine, as long as you'll have sufficient chance to enjoy them.

4. emmanuel

emmanuel Senior member