• STYLE. COMMUNITY. GREAT CLOTHING.

Bored of counting likes on social networks? At Styleforum, you’ll find rousing discussions that go beyond strings of emojis.

Click Here to join Styleforum's thousands of style enthusiasts today!

Briefcase purchase: opinions please

designed

Reaction score
Hi all!

Well, I am new here and I would like to share your experience on which briefcase to purchase.

I have narrowed down my selection between the well known classic hand-stitched wrap-round strap document case by Swaine Adeney Brigg and the flaptop briefcase by Glaser Designs, so please don't refer to other type of briefcases or other brands.

I am a PhD student at the moment so I carry a lot of papers, my notes, sometimes a laptop and I attend conferences as well.

I like the classic design of SAB but from the other side, it looks like just some parts of leather which are stitched together. No lining, no inner pockets, etc. Also it has these straps plus the lock which I think its cumbersome for everyday use. Furthermore, it has three compartments divided by leather separators, so this limit its functionality. I know about the custom option SAB offers but I have found a New Old Stock piece in London Tan which is offered for eight hundred euros. So I focus on this.

Here is good photo gallery for S.A.B.
http://www.classicluggage.com/origin...spatch_bag.htm

From the other hand GD has awesome inner lining and looks like so well designed that you can organize the inner compartment in a very functional way. And this will cost as the aforementioned price plus it will be fully customized according to my needs.

Here is Rilian's post here in SF for his new Glaser
http://www.styleforum.net/showthread.php?t=89358

So, what is your opinion? What would you choose?

Any input is appreciated.

Regards,
Greg

PeterEliot

Reaction score