Bow ties anyone?

Discussion in 'General Chat' started by Frrrank, Dec 28, 2007.

1. Frrrank

Frrrank Well-Known Member

Any bow tie wearers out there? I'm in suits daily and wear bow ties with them. Just seems more dressy, and even when a day goes lousy, it feels nice to be all buttoned up and sharp. Been wearing them since high school, so by college I wasn't self-conscious about being so dressed up, which was good since I was working fulltime and going to school at night until I graduated not long ago, so I was always the most overdressed member of my class. Made life more interesting too, since one friend of mine from school was a bit of a nut and loved my "buttoned-up and formal" look. She ran a group at our college and once talked me into being in a "mock wedding," for lack of a better term. Only thing was, the group was the gay-straight alliance, or something like that, and the mock wedding was part of a "Gay Wedding Day" event. When she talked me into being in it I had no idea how big it would be. The wedding was held in a church near the campus and performed by a lady minister. My groom was a guy who was a member of the gay-straight alliance. She had us both wear navy blue suits (since we both had them and it was cheaper than tuxes), with very starched (how I wear them) white shirts, and navy blue bow ties (with a little bit of a print), and of course matching white rose and baby's breath boutonnierres. I was nervous as hell, naturally. When they opened the doors into the main church, there's the minister waiting for us down at the end of the aisle and the place was PACKED. Probably a couple hundred people. Next thing I know the organist was blaring out The Wedding March and there I am walking very slowly down the aisle with my groom on my arm, both of us all stiff and buttoned-up and formal in our suits and bow ties and being wed in front of a church-full of people. It couldn't have been more real. As soon as The Wedding March started playing and we started