Best way to learn Italian?

Discussion in 'Social Life, Food & Drink, Travel' started by Bentech, Jul 31, 2011.

1. Bentech

Bentech Active Member

So I'm an engineering student.

Through a series of lucky connections and co-incidences, I potentially have an opportunity for an awesome internship next summer in Italy.

It's a long story, and I haven't slept in about 24 hours, so I probably can't explain it in a cohesive manner right now.

Point it, I have from now until about next April to learn semi-functional Italian. How would you go about this?

I am fairly fluent in French, hopefully some background with a romantic language will help.

I have been recommended Rosetta Stone. Does anyone have experience with it? Does it work? Anything better?

As I already said, I am crashing pretty hard, but I'm wondering if you guys have any ideas or advice?

Thanks in advance,
    Ben

2. mgm9128

mgm9128 Senior member

Find an Italian deli--one with actual Italians--and go there every day for lunch until next April.

Italian is relatively easy to learn. Knowing Spanish would be more helpful than French.

Last edited: Jul 31, 2011

3. willpower

willpower Senior member

Had to review some of these systems for a company I had worked for. Was not impressed by Rosetta Stone. The most effective program I found was the Michel Thomas Method. He makes it so easy to construct sentences.

http://www.michelthomas.co.uk/courses.php

As you learn phrases, write them down on index cards with the English translation on the other side and quiz yourself.

I'd also encourage you to get a book called "Wicked Italian" and keep it in the bathroom.

http://www.amazon.com/Wicked-Italian-Traveler-English/dp/0894806173

Also, watch Italian comedies to get an ear for the sound of the language "Divorce Italian Style" is on Youtube and it's really funny.

Italians love it when foreigners attempt to speak Italian. You'll hear a lot of "Bravo!" after you say something.

Last edited: Jul 31, 2011

4. Reggs