Are you reaching for sportcoats more than suits?

Discussion in 'Classic Menswear' started by spectre, Jul 1, 2009.

1. spectre

spectre Senior member

I seem to be although I don't really want to; it must be a subconscious desire to blend in or at least not stand out so much at work (I'm a journalist and they invariably dress like crap).
    Suits I love but they are becoming a bit restricting in my mind. Sportcoats offer such wonderful variation, whether it's a navy cashmere paired with grey flannels, shirt and tie or an unlined brown linen with white jeans and loafers with no socks. A cashmere sportcoat and jeans offers a great option in this day and age, I feel.

2. JLibourel

JLibourel Senior member

Working in a casual office as I do, I wear sport coats daily, suits very rarely. I find sport coats and blazers, with their greater diversity of colors and bolder patterns, much more appealing, interesting and enjoyable than suits.

3. GuidoWongolini

GuidoWongolini Senior member

YES

[​IMG][​IMG]

[​IMG][​IMG]

[​IMG][​IMG]

[​IMG][​IMG]

[​IMG][​IMG]

[​IMG][​IMG]

[​IMG][​IMG]
    [​IMG]

[​IMG][​IMG]

[​IMG][​IMG]
    [​IMG]

[​IMG][​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

[​IMG][​IMG]
    [​IMG]

[​IMG][​IMG]
    [​IMG]

[​IMG][​IMG]
    [​IMG]

[​IMG][​IMG]
    [​IMG][​IMG]

4. Chips

Chips Senior member

YES

+1

5. yachtie

yachtie Senior member

+1
    +2. I'm probably not getting many more suits but rather SC's and odd slacks. If I do order a suit It'll be a "splittable" where I can wear the jacket and pants as seperates.

6. rlx

rlx Senior member

My firm is business casual as well, particularly during the summer. I wear suits for meetings with clients. Otherwise, I tend to wear a sportcoat -- with or without tie, depending on my mood.

7. whiteslashasian

whiteslashasian Senior member

I haven't worn a suit in months...although tonight I plan on wearing one for my girlfriends birthday dinner.