Affordable daily workbag/briefcase on the casual side?

Discussion in 'Menswear Advice' started by smilence, Feb 6, 2017.

1. smilence

smilence Well-Known Member

By Affordable I mean under $300, better under $200.

So I work in tech field as engineer but I do pay attention to my outfit. Most people wear T-shirt, casual button-down and jeans here, and carry backpacks. I'm on the dressier end, with casual bomber jacket + casual/dress shirt + jeans / chino + sneaker / monk straps.

I need a bag to carry my 15'' macbook pro to office, at most along with a iPad mini, so definitely prefer to be on slim side like 3'' - 4'' inch depth.

Right now I'm carrying a Everlane tote bag: https://www.everlane.com/products/mens-twill-tote-reverse-denim-black-leather which I like the material, styling and color, which also seems suitable in our casual work environment. The only complain is that it's a bit feminine. So I'm looking for a non-leather (since that would be a bit too dressy) briefcase, but I also don't like nylon.

This knomo bag really caught my eye, https://www.knomobags.com/usa/princeton-laptop-briefcase-grey.html I really like the styling, the size, and the casual look. But it doesn't seem to be a SF-approved brand, do you have any recommendations for my need?

2. smilence

Another reason I want it affordable and non-leather, is, most likely I don't want to be careful with it, I probably would put it on the ground, toss it around... and that's part of the reason I like my everlane twill tote bag

3. johng70

johng70 Senior member

The problem is almost always a question of durability - zippers, corners, bottoms and how handles attach. Filson is a great option but a little more than you want to spend. Here's another option, a little less well known, but they make high quality:
    https://www.duluthpack.com/business/portfolios/the-commuter-laptop-portfolio.html

There are other models you can look at. But, Duluth Pack is still high quality, made in America.