1. And... we're back. You'll notice that all of your images are back as well, as are our beloved emoticons, including the infamous :foo: We have also worked with our server folks and developers to fix the issues that were slowing down the site.

There is still work to be done - the images in existing sigs are not yet linked, for example, and we are working on a way to get the images to load faster - which will improve the performance of the site, especially on the pages with a ton of images, and we will continue to work diligently on that and keep you updated.

Cheers,

Fok on behalf of the entire Styleforum team
    Dismiss Notice

AE or Alden shoe types

Discussion in 'Classic Menswear' started by yanks2182, May 10, 2005.

1. yanks2182

yanks2182 Senior member

As I stated in a prior post I work in Finance, so my business dress is rather conservative. I was hoping some of you can recommend specific AE or Alden shoe models that you like.

2. AlanC

AlanC Senior member

Allen Edmonds Park Avenue: [​IMG] and Byron [​IMG] Alden cordovan wingtip: [​IMG] Alden perf cap at Brooks (Edit: really a semi-brogue): [​IMG] Keep in mind, of course, all of the above are very conservative shoes, but would always be "right" in a conservative business environment.

3. NoVaguy

NoVaguy Senior member

I'll go with everything AlanC said. Just keep in mind that both Alden and AE have a number of cap-toe and wing-tip variations, in a number of lasts (the shoeform that the shoe built on), so you can just try a few on until you get one that fits best for you. Both brands have a substantial number of widths for each size length (especially the Park Avenue), so that you can fiddle around until you get a good fit.

Also, you might want to try some bluchers (open laced shoes such as the AE Colton or MacNeil), if you have a hard time fitting into the closed laced shoes above. They're sometimes easier to fit.

4. yanks2182

yanks2182 Senior member