Advice for undergraduate

Discussion in 'Classic Menswear' started by gibs, Jul 5, 2013.

1. gibs

gibs Member

Hello Styleforum,

I am a second year pre-law student at a northern university. My freshman year I chose to join a fraternity, and as part of the pledge process, we were required to wear dress clothes (button ups and slacks) to class every day. I quickly grew accustomed to the change from t-shirts and cargo shorts, and enjoyed the excuse to dress like the type of professional I want to become.

After pledging, I had a hard time bringing myself to wear dress clothes to class since I was no longer required to, and felt self-consciously overdressed around my classmates. I recently have discovered that oxford shirts can present a more casual appearance, while still looking sharp in a JFK kind of way. Although my school is not particularly a "preppy" one, do you think it is reasonable to wear different colored oxfords to class regularly without seeming like a dandy?

My other question is about footwear. I usually wear Sperry Topsiders (a staple for most fraternity members) all day, every day, and are now starting to show--and smell--their age. I recently came into possession of a pair of very inexpensive brown wingtips, and am wondering if they would be over-the-top formal for daily use on a college campus where it is normal to see pajamas and flip flops.

Thanks for your thoughts.

Last edited: Jul 5, 2013

2. archibaldleach

archibaldleach Senior member

There are two things you need to consider re: the OCBD (oxford cloth button down):

1) What does the average person wear on your campus?

2) Are you going to be self-conscious dressing a certain amount nicer than that norm?