Discussion in 'Entertainment, Culture, and Sports' started by edinatlanta, Feb 3, 2011.
Well...because if is it a line drive to that spot, there's no way he can get there. In this case, he could have. Guy was not exactly in a full sprint. It's not like if he makes that catch, he's gonna end up on Sportcenter's top 10 plays. (granted, the definition of ordinary effort is well below that threshold).
Do you think there are starting shortstops in the MLB who can't make that play the vast majority of the time? Put another way, had an infield fly not been called, and had he not broken away from the ball, and had he camped under it, got his glove on it and dropped it - would you NOT consider it to be an error on the part of the SS?
what does him potentially flubbing the catch have to do with him intentionally dropping the ball without even making an effort at it? Its pretty clear he thought he was getting waved off by the left fielder. there was no way in hell that should have been called.
I mention it as it goes to the point of whether the catch could have been made by the SS with "ordinary effort". The rule makes no mention of whether or not you think you're getting waved off by another fielder. Only addresses whether the SS could make the play with ordinary effort. The fact that he dropped it doesn't matter.
How about this - pop fly to the infield right between SS and 3B. Both think the other has it. Ump calls infield fly. Ball drops. You have a problem with that call?
i guess we'll have to agree to disagree on this. I don't think backpedaling into left field is consistent with ordinary effort. shit, if the left field can make the play on the ball then its clearly not in the fucking infield!
Well, we can agree that the ball was not in the infield. Unfortunately, while the rule is called the Infield Fly Rule, it never excludes balls hit to the outfield.
I am saying it's considered ordinary effort as he did not need to make any special effort to get in position to catch the ball. Now, that's a ball that the LF probably should catch, but again, the rule states the the infield fly can be called even if an outfielder catches the ball.
There's nothing in the rule that would differentiate the scenario that occurred from the scenario I mentioned above (with the SS and 3B).
We both agree that the play was outside the spirit of the rule. Doesn't mean you should just say, in the middle of the game, "well, that's not what the rule really means, so I'm not gonna call it".
Trust MLB to fuck up the concept of home field advantage.
You mean verlander in game 1 at comerica?
I thought that was odd when I first saw the format. Did they do that to help eliminate travel days, so that we don't get the damn World Series at Christmas?
It was for travel. When they did the extra wild card game, I believe the schedule was set. They needed the 2-3 format to accommodate the play in game. Next year it goes back to 2-2-1
Justin Verlander killed the A's. Just awesome.
Will be interesting to see how long Cueto is out. The Reds looked good roughing up Cain.
Anyone see that Francona got hired by the Indians? Why the fuck would he take THAT job?
Francona has ties with the Indians in the past. his father played there, he played there for a season, he is friends with the front office guys, etc.
Don Kelly earned his league minimum paycheck today...
Separate names with a comma.