Styleforum › Forums › Archives › Buying and Selling (Archive) › B&S Archive › Polo Ralph Lauren Labels Help
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:

Polo Ralph Lauren Labels Help

post #1 of 8
Thread Starter 
I was wondering if anyone could tell me about this label. Someone said it was not a real Ralph Lauren because of the mitered corner. Is this true???

http://img.auctiva.com/imgdata/3/3/1...67454044_o.jpg
LL
post #2 of 8
This is not the current Polo tag, for sure. Both the Polo font and the mitred corner are wrong. The way it's attached to the lining is different too. For comparison, a recent Polo label from one of my auctions:

However, I have no idea whether they USED to look like that.
post #3 of 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by Patriotsgrrl View Post
I was wondering if anyone could tell me about this label. Someone said it was not a real Ralph Lauren because of the mitered corner. Is this true???

http://img.auctiva.com/imgdata/3/3/1...67454044_o.jpg


I think that is valid, their tags have changed so much that I date that to the made in USA days but it is hard to tell without seeing the whole garment
post #4 of 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by rssmsvc View Post
I think that is valid, their tags have changed so much that I date that to the made in USA days but it is hard to tell without seeing the whole garment

Yes I have to agree with rssmsvc. Think logically, if the suit is a counterfeit made by a 3rd world country, then why the manufacturer went through all the troubles by making tags with a mitered corner? And judging by how uniform these stitches are, it does not look like the tag was attached on the suit lining by an amature.

Holdfast is right about the suit is definitly not the current model (by Corneliani). With current RL Polo line, the way the tag is attached is a "zig-zag" type of stitches vs the straight stitches displayed in the picture.

Ask the seller to show you the tag inside the pocket. And that will give you more information.
post #5 of 8
Thread Starter 
Thank you all so much! Actually, I have to tell you that the suit was MY listing. I received a nasty email from the buyer stating that it wasn't authentic and that the lining was wrong and that it wasn't made by Corneliani etc. I was stunned but I did assure him that he could send it back for a full refund. He actually said he wanted a refund before I get the package. (strange) But I do thank you for your imput, if it is indeed not authentic, it wasn't intentional. Here is the listing......... [url]http://cgi.ebay.com/320154091535. For some reason, I was getting error messages when I tried to upload the listing. But thanks!
post #6 of 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by Patriotsgrrl View Post
Thank you all so much! Actually, I have to tell you that the suit was MY listing. I received a nasty email from the buyer stating that it wasn't authentic and that the lining was wrong and that it wasn't made by Corneliani etc. I was stunned but I did assure him that he could send it back for a full refund. He actually said he wanted a refund before I get the package. (strange) But I do thank you for your imput, if it is indeed not authentic, it wasn't intentional. Here is the listing......... [url]http://cgi.ebay.com/320154091535. For some reason, I was getting error messages when I tried to upload the listing. But thanks!

No problem. I do have a NOS RL polo sportcoat. The label looks the same as the one pictured except the mitered corner. Mine is made in USA.

Here is the picture
post #7 of 8
Thread Starter 
Thanks so much for your imput! You helped out alot
post #8 of 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by Patriotsgrrl View Post
Thank you all so much! Actually, I have to tell you that the suit was MY listing. I received a nasty email from the buyer stating that it wasn't authentic and that the lining was wrong and that it wasn't made by Corneliani etc. I was stunned but I did assure him that he could send it back for a full refund. He actually said he wanted a refund before I get the package. (strange) But I do thank you for your imput, if it is indeed not authentic, it wasn't intentional. Here is the listing......... [url]http://cgi.ebay.com/320154091535. For some reason, I was getting error messages when I tried to upload the listing. But thanks!

Sounds like this guy may be running game. Give me my money before i get the package. IF he thought it was a fake, why the hell did he bid on it?
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:
  Return Home
  Back to Forum: B&S Archive
Styleforum › Forums › Archives › Buying and Selling (Archive) › B&S Archive › Polo Ralph Lauren Labels Help