Originally Posted by dcg
Another interesting thought about the play is that Dez probably could have controlled the ball had he pulled it into his body, rather than extending it to try to cross the plane. Also, had he been able to extend the ball further and crossed the plane, I think the refs would have been likely to consider that a "football move" and let the score stand. But he was only able to accomplish a sort of a halfway extension that did not reach the goal line, and it ended up costing him.
The rule with controlling the ball over the goal line has always been strange. If you hit the ground and lose control on any other play, it's either an incomplete or a fumble. But with the goal line, it's an insta-TD if you had control when you went across the line.
So if the ball was in his hand for one instant going across the pylon, TD. But reach for it, don't make it, drop ball = no catch.
Totally rational the way the rules work, but it's always been strange to me.