or Connect
Styleforum › Forums › Men's Style › Classic Menswear › Japanese Shoes: Bespoke & RTW Super Thread
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:

Japanese Shoes: Bespoke & RTW Super Thread - Page 14

post #196 of 2885
Quote:
Originally Posted by nutcracker View Post

Main-D'or aka Murata Eiji: The man with the golden touch

breathtaking...













via zenobia_bengal's blog

Indeed what a touch to get that shine!

post #197 of 2885
like em in black
post #198 of 2885
Quote:
Originally Posted by nutcracker View Post

Main-D'or aka Murata Eiji: The man with the golden touch

Bespoke V-front Derby with 3 eyelets

breathtaking...













via zenobia_bengal's blog


Definitely one of the best craft I have seen.
post #199 of 2885
Quote:
Originally Posted by nutcracker View Post

Main-D'or aka Murata Eiji: The man with the golden touch

Bespoke V-front Derby with 3 eyelets

breathtaking...













via zenobia_bengal's blog

 

 

 The heels on these are fetchingly drop-dead-gorgeous.....

post #200 of 2885
Murata Eiji: mind -- blown.
post #201 of 2885
Thread Starter 
Main-d'or by Murata Eiji

Bespoke, Quarter-Brogue Oxford


from LAST issue 03
post #202 of 2885
Quote:
Originally Posted by nutcracker View Post

Main-d'or by Murata Eiji

Bespoke, Quarter-Brogue Oxford


from LAST issue 03
really unbelievable. nice touches.
post #203 of 2885
Quote:
Originally Posted by nutcracker View Post

Warning: Spoiler! (Click to show)
Well, here it is, finally (or another?), a thread devoted to shoemaking from the Land of the Rising Sun

Unfortunately there is very limited information in English about the vibrant world of Bespoke shoemaking in Japan. As some of you know, there are quite a few Japanese bespoke shoemakers out there, and for me personally, living in Tokyo has provided me with lotsa eye(shoe)candies

I've also seen some forum members interested in the RTW brands, what is there, are they good? etc....and not getting answers

Lets have this thread change that, because honestly, we're missing out on some serious Japanese porn! Discuss and share!

In order to remove the clout of mystery (frankly from the lack of available information in English), I'll do the honour of listing all the decent Japanese shoemakers RTW and Bespoke that I know.


List of notable Bespoke Shoemakers in Japan 2013

Tokyo and Kanto Area

Marquess (Kawaguchi Shoji): http://marquess-bespoke.blogspot.jp/
Yohei Fukuda: http://yoheifukuda.jp/
Benchwork Study (Yukiko Bassett-Okawa): http://www.benchmade.jp/
o.e. (Egawa Osamu): http://www.h6.dion.ne.jp/~snug/
Hiro Yanagimachi: http://www.hiroyanagimachi.com/
Tsukui Reiko (Lecott): http://lecott.blogspot.jp/
Misawa & Workshop (Misawa Noriyuki): http://www.misawa-and-workshop.com/
Clematis (Takano Keitaro): http://www.clematis-ginza.com/
Arai Hiroshi: http://h-arai.com
Guild of Crafts (Yamaguchi Chihiro): http://www.footwear.co.jp/
Tetsujiya (Ueda Tetsuji): http://tetsujiya.com/
Ogasawara Shoes / συναντω: http://sinando.jp/
Otsuka Shoes: http://www.otsuka-shoe.com/
Ginza Yoshinoya: http://www.ginza-yoshinoya.co.jp/
Saion (Yokoyama Naoto):
Emori Custom Shoemaker (Emori Daizo): http://web.mac.com/shoemaker_emori/emori/Top.html
Inamori Kutsuten (Tohohiro Inamori): http://inakutsu.com/
Le Scarpe Di Cabiria (Wada Yoshiaki): http://www.yo.rim.or.jp/~local/index.html
Rikhugi (Okubo Takauji): http://bespoker.exblog.jp/
Shoe Republic (Takayama Junichi): http://shoe-republic.com/
Furuhata Masahito: http://m-furuhata.com/
T. Shirakashi (Shirakashi Tetsuya): http://www.shirakashi.jp/index.html
Takayuki Maruyama Handmade Shoes:
Cool Strutting (Yokoo Tadashi): http://www.coolstrutting.com
Anonymous (Akasaka Hidenori): www.anonymous-shoe.com
REGAL TOKYO: http://www.regal.co.jp/regaltokyo/
Bottega Tramoda (Okayasu Keisuke): http://bottegatramoda.web.fc2.com/
TYE Shoemaker (Ohno Tsuyoshi): http://www.tyeshoemaker.com/
Main D'or (Murata Eiji):
Ameno Spazio (Nakagaki Tomohiro): http://www.amenospazio.com
gentille (Endo Koji): http://www.geocities.jp/gentille_79/


Nagoya and Central Japan

Bolero Bespoke Shoe & Bootmaker (Watanabe Tomoyuki): www.boleroshoe.jimdo.com
Shoes Bonanza: http://shoesbonanza.com/
Yamazaki Kutsuten: http://www.yamazaki1927.jp
Nagomigutsu (Ota Katsuhisa): http://katsu-bespoke.com/pg26.html
KOKON: http://kanazawakokon.com/page3.html


Osaka, Kyoto, Kobe

Spigola (Suzuki Koji): http://www.spigola.jp
Sforzo. Opera (Yoshida Tsutomu): http://www.sforzo-opera.com/
Ryuta Gutsu: http://ryuta-gutsu.com/
Atelier Grandpa (Yada Atsuki): http://www.ateliergrandpa.com
Shoe Scape (Hagihara Hiroyuki): http://shoe-scape.jugem.jp/
Shoe & Sewn: http://shoe-and-sewn.jp/
Il Quadrifoglio (Qnai Atsushi): http://ilquadrifoglio.tumblr.com
Il Vagabundo (Suga Motoji): http://miescarpe.exblog.jp/
Bonta (Hasegawa Ippei): http://bonta-bonta.com/
Atsuta Kutsuten (Atsuta Koji):


KYUSHU

Corno Blu (Seikaku Yutaka): http://cornoblu.ciao.jp/wordpress/
Yuki Shirahama Bottier: http://ys-bottier.com/
Nihil Bespoke Shoe: http://nihil-bs.com
Matsuda Akinobu
Yamamura Seikaten (Yamamura Koji): http://www.yamamuraseikaten.com/

HOKKAIDO

Cagra: http://www.k5.dion.ne.jp/~cagra/


OVERSEAS
Il Micio (Fukaya Hidetaka): @ Florence
Hayafuji Ryota: @ Munich
Masaru Okuyama: @ Hong Kong http://www.masaruokuyama.com
Emiko Matsuda: @ Foster & Sons
Kuroki Satoshi: @ John Lobb Paris


Dress Shoe Manufactures (Ready Made)

Regal Shoes: www.regalshoes.co.jp
Otsuka Shoes: www.otsuka-shoe.com
Ginza Yoshinoya: www.ginza-yoshinoya.co.jp
Miyagi Kogyo: www.miyagikogyo.co.jp
Scotch Grain: www.scotchgrain.co.jp
Union Imperial: www.union-royal.jp
Madras: www.madras.co.jp
Sanyo Yamacho: www.sanyoyamacho.com
forme: www.formeofficial.com
Yoshiharu Hasegawa
Central Shoes
Perfetto: www.vinaseiko.com
Artistocrat: http://www.daiwa-kk.jp
Chausser: www.chausser.net
Foot the Coacher: www.galleryofauthentic.jp
Authentic Shoes & Co.: www.galleryofauthentic.jp
H? Katsukawa from Tokyo: www.hkatsukawafromtokyo.net
Hiroshi Tsubouchi: www.id-limited.com
Pegman: www.lacota.co.jp/pegman
Hall & Marks (RTW): http://www.footwear.co.jp/
Corno Blu (RTW): http://cornoblu.ciao.jp/wordpress/
Spigola (RTW): http://www.spigola.jp

Quote:
Originally Posted by nutcracker View Post

Warning: Spoiler! (Click to show)
Here is a list of Japanese shoemakers with OVERSEAS training, education, and apprenticeship

Marquess (Kawaguchi Shoji): Tresham Institute>Paul Wilson>Outworker
Yohei Fukuda: Tresham Institute>Ian Wood>Jason Amesbury>G.J.Cleverley>Outworker
Benchwork Study (Yukiko Bassett-Okawa): Cordwainer's College>John Lobb St.James
Yanagimachi Hiro: Cordwainer's College
Misawa & Workshop (Misawa Noriyuki): Guild > Materna
Hasegawa Yoshiharu: Cordwainer's College
Guild of Crafts) Yamaguchi Chihiro: Cordwainer's College>Len Robinson (EG/Trickers)
Tetsujiya (Ueda Tetsuji): Mannina
Rikhugi (Okubo Takauji): Cordwainer's College
Shoe Republic (Takayama Junichi): Tresham Institute
Furuhata Masahito: Gato>Messina
Bottega Tramoda (Okayasu Keisuke): Roberto Ugolini
Spigola (Suzuki Koji): Roberto Ugolini
Il Quadrifoglio (Qnai Atsushi): Roberto Ugolini
Corno Blu (Seikaku Yutaka): Roberto Ugolini
Il Vagabundo (Suga Motoji): Roberto Ugolini
Yuki Shirahama Bottier: Guild>Spigola>Altan Bottier
Cool Strutting (Yokoo Tadashi): Cordwainer's College>Guild
Bonta (Hasegawa Ippei):Silvano Lattanzi>Guild
Atsuta Kutsuten (Atsuta Koji): Tresham Institute>Frank Harvey>Stefano Bemer
Ameno Spazio (Nakagaki Tomohiro): Zintala
Matsuda Akinobu: Roberto Ugolini
Eiichi Katsukawa: Tresham Institute>Paul Harnden
Gentile (Endo Koji): Anthony Delos

Il Micio (Fukaya Hidetaka): Alessandro Stella>Roberto Ugolini
Hayafuji Ryota: Cordwainer's College>Paul Wilson>Dmitri Gomez
Emiko Matsuda: Cordwainer's College>Foster & Sons (current)
Kuroki Satoshi: Cordwainer's College>JL Paris (current)

Great job nutcracker, thanks.
post #204 of 2885
Thread Starter 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fang66 View Post


Great job nutcracker, thanks.

Thanks Fang!
post #205 of 2885
Thread Starter 
I scanned these pics from the past LAST magazine, and took the liberty of translating them.

Atsuta Koji (Atsuta Kutsuten)



A graduate from the Tresham Institute (UK) > worked at Frank Harvey (UK) making custom shoes > hired by Kawamura Prosthetic (Japan) as the chief designer of orthopaedic shoes > most recently worked at Stephano Bemer chiefly as a modelista; before starting his own Bespoke practice in Osaka.

Last making process:

Lasts are made completely from scratch, not from a base last or a rough turned stock. Instead, resin casts are made from plaster molds of the client's feet, and shaped accordingly.


Making of a plaster mold


The completed mold. Resin are poured into this.


Perfect foot imprints in cast foam resin.


The cast imprints are shaped, based on his medical/orthopedic knowledge and an aesthetic sense honed at Bemer's workshop


Custom orthopedic insoles are made for those who require.


The left one with a deep instep was shaped to accommodate an insole. The right one doesn't. The space between the ball is relatively flat.


Check shoes in plastic resin are made by applying/pasting the resin over the last.


(right) The completed last
(center) The check-shoes with insoles and mock heels. 1st test fitting.
(left): Test shoes. The counters are already in. After the final fitting, the shoes are relasted and finished.


The completed pair, and the last made with foam resin.


His only sample shoe adorn the window.


Those living in Osaka are in luck.

Pictures/text taken from LAST Issue 03.
post #206 of 2885
Quote:
Originally Posted by nutcracker View Post

I scanned these pics from the past LAST magazine, and took the liberty of translating them.

Atsuta Koji (Atsuta Kutsuten)

worship.gif
post #207 of 2885
Wonderful
post #208 of 2885
Quote:
Originally Posted by nutcracker View Post

Main-d'or by Murata Eiji

Bespoke, Quarter-Brogue Oxford


from LAST issue 03

Dear God
post #209 of 2885
Quote:
Originally Posted by nutcracker View Post

Main-D'or aka Murata Eiji: The man with the golden touch

Bespoke V-front Derby with 3 eyelets

breathtaking...





via zenobia_bengal's blog

Unfair
post #210 of 2885
Quote:
Originally Posted by sstomcat View Post

Wonderful

+1
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:
  Return Home
  Back to Forum: Classic Menswear
Styleforum › Forums › Men's Style › Classic Menswear › Japanese Shoes: Bespoke & RTW Super Thread