See, the difference is in how you track consignment sales.
I don't factor in the cost of those until I pay for them (ie, after the item sells and I get feedback (or the end of the next month end, whichever comes first). I put the actual amount given to the client in the cost for the item.
There are also two different ways to track sales -you either factor in the cost of everything purchased versus everything sold (the way I do it), or you only track what sells that year (the way you do it). If I tracked things the way you do, my profit margin would be considerably higher.
I'll give you an example of two items, a normal sale and a consignment sale:
Item cost $10.80. Item sold at $24.99 +3.76 shipping ($28.75 -10% =$25.88 (10% is roughly what it averages out to between PayPal and Ebay fees with TRS discounts and a Mid-Level store)). Item cost $3.11 to ship, and packaging cost $.10), so total sale for the item = $22.67. Total profit = $11.88 (profit % = 209.9%)
Consignment sale works essentially the same -I'll use a camera lens as an example:
($350 to consignor, item sold at $$449.99, shipping charge was $20, shipping cost was $12.32
$469.99 total sale ($422.99 after fees), $362.32 total cost. $60.67 profit (+16.75%)