or Connect
Styleforum › Forums › Men's Style › Streetwear and Denim › Oak Street Bootmakers - Official Affiliate Thread
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:

Oak Street Bootmakers - Official Affiliate Thread - Page 89

post #1321 of 3017

if there a big difference between 7d and 7e in the beefroll loafers?

post #1322 of 3017
Quote:
Originally Posted by aspasp View Post

if there a big difference between 7d and 7e in the beefroll loafers?

 

 

I was told about 1/16."

post #1323 of 3017
Quote:
Originally Posted by digga View Post


I was told about 1/16."
Huh. I always thought 3/16"
post #1324 of 3017

Yea, that's what I thought too.  I was going to write that initially, but checked my PMs just to be sure and found it was much smaller than I thought.  I think Alden width's change by about 3/16 though. 

 

Also to be clear, I only own OSB shoes in D width.

post #1325 of 3017

can anyone confirm? who did you ask?

post #1326 of 3017
Love the Trench oxford.... but would love it more with a captoe.

Anyone carrying that configuration?
post #1327 of 3017
Quote:
Originally Posted by aspasp View Post

can anyone confirm? who did you ask?

I asked George.  Maybe he can confirm. 

post #1328 of 3017
Quote:
Originally Posted by maritimetimetime View Post

Got my boots in the mail today. Definitely loving them except I'm not feeling the leather laces. Any recommendations for waxed laces?

 

http://needsupply.com/flat-waxed-laces.html?gclid=CI6a-erY5rcCFYme4Aodwl8AfQ&kwid=productads-plaid^54194991575-sku^3018988-adType^PLA-device^c-adid^33909408695

post #1329 of 3017
My natural cxl trail oxfords arrived today! Got well and truly spanked by UPS with a £90 ($140) charge upon delivery, but the shoes are stunning.
Thanks to the guys at OSB for answering my questions, and particularly to Timothy at Independence Chicago for awesome service!
post #1330 of 3017
Sadly I have had a less than stellar experience with Oak Street's customer service. Around the same time DaleMurphy posted his great experience I sent an email to OSB because the stitching holding my beefroll penny loafers' uppers to the soles was coming apart after less than 1 year (and only a few months of actual wear). I never got a response so I contacted the store where I bought the shoes. They were apparently able to reach OSB and informed me that I could get my shoes factory recrafted for $96 + shipping.

I was really disappointed not to get a response from the company and even more disappointed that they are asking me to pay to repair a handmade shoe that is falling apart so soon. Especially from a company with a tagline like "Handcrafted in America / Designed for Longevity".

YMMV though. They are certainly beautiful shoes and once my cobbler gets the stitching repaired I look forward to many more years of wearing.
post #1331 of 3017
Quote:
Originally Posted by DoTheGrownup View Post

Sadly I have had a less than stellar experience with Oak Street's customer service. Around the same time DaleMurphy posted his great experience I sent an email to OSB because the stitching holding my beefroll penny loafers' uppers to the soles was coming apart after less than 1 year (and only a few months of actual wear). I never got a response so I contacted the store where I bought the shoes. They were apparently able to reach OSB and informed me that I could get my shoes factory recrafted for $96 + shipping.

I was really disappointed not to get a response from the company and even more disappointed that they are asking me to pay to repair a handmade shoe that is falling apart so soon. Especially from a company with a tagline like "Handcrafted in America / Designed for Longevity".

YMMV though. They are certainly beautiful shoes and once my cobbler gets the stitching repaired I look forward to many more years of wearing.

Sorry to hear about your experience. May I ask which email address you contacted them at? I have never had an email go unreturned and Tony has always been extremely helpful.

post #1332 of 3017
Quote:
Originally Posted by rydenfan View Post

Sorry to hear about your experience. May I ask which email address you contacted them at? I have never had an email go unreturned and Tony has always been extremely helpful.

I emailed info@oakstreetbootmakers.com, the only email contact I could find on their website.
post #1333 of 3017
Thread Starter 
^ I'm sorry to hear about this. As I'm sure you can see from so many other comments, we do pride ourselves on excellent customer service. The fact however, is that you did not receive a reply from us - your email must have slipped through the cracks or got filtered into a junk folder either on our end our outbound - not an excuse.

Soles do wear out - and depending on countless factors, gait, use or lack of use of shoe trees, wearing them in wet conditions, lack of rotation, etc they can wear out sooner than one may hope or expect.

I would caution having a cobbler simply stitch down the sole. The separation you are experiencing (without seeing photos) isn't a craftsmanship issue - rather, the soles have worn to a point that has worn through the thread, and will soon wear into the welting - and so should be appropriately re-soled.

Again, I personally apologize for the issue. Tony and I are both currently actively looking through our emails for your unaswered message. When you have the opportunity, please send me an email with the photos: george at oakstreetbootmakers dot com

Thank you,

George Vlagos
Founder / Design Director
Oak Street Bootmakers
post #1334 of 3017
G another vote for horse hide trenches. Maybe with some vibram 700 or 430s?

Sporting my navy oxfords as I type this, great stuff, they have molded to my feet just as you predicted, thanks!
post #1335 of 3017

So... size up or the same in the shell loafers?

New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:
  Return Home
  Back to Forum: Streetwear and Denim
Styleforum › Forums › Men's Style › Streetwear and Denim › Oak Street Bootmakers - Official Affiliate Thread