Styleforum › Forums › Men's Style › Men's Clothing › Vkernel.org spyware redirect?
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:

Vkernel.org spyware redirect?

post #1 of 10
Thread Starter 
Saw this in general chat and thought I'd repost here. Has anyone else been redirected to a fake Firefox update site while browsing the forums? This has apparently happened to a few of us here.
post #2 of 10

The download at that site is toxic

 

https://www.virustotal.com/file/1aa80f99b4fb8f6cccefb8bf6d6ee0cc659f0ba21d8f9d2163a7360edf95ca8a/analysis/

 

Is the analysis of the binary that site tries to push on you - 10 different antivirus/malware packages say EVIL.

 

No idea what is directing you there in the first place.

post #3 of 10

Happened to me a couple days ago while browsing the WAYWRN thread.

post #4 of 10
Happened to me too. I had just turned off adblock plus and I got their aggressive prompt. It was really aggressive and fairly believable. Entirely closing the tab/window was the only way to avoid/escape it.
post #5 of 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bullswin View Post

Happened to me too. I had just turned off adblock plus and I got their aggressive prompt. It was really aggressive and fairly believable. Entirely closing the tab/window was the only way to avoid/escape it.

I use Adblock Plus too! Still scary though, that should not be happening.
post #6 of 10
am i right in assuming thos only happens when browsing in firefox?
post #7 of 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackstone View Post

am i right in assuming thos only happens when browsing in firefox?

have not seen it in Chrome.
post #8 of 10
Happens to me in Explorer. frown.gif
post #9 of 10
I'm on this. (At least, I think that some engineers are.)

Cheers,

Fok.
post #10 of 10
FWIW, this has happened to me with both IE and FireFox after logging out of my Hotmail account.
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:
  Return Home
  Back to Forum: Men's Clothing
Styleforum › Forums › Men's Style › Men's Clothing › Vkernel.org spyware redirect?