Styleforum › Forums › General › General Chat › Why not styleforum.com?
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:

Why not styleforum.com? - Page 2

post #16 of 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by j View Post
I have tried to contact the current owner of the .com and haven't heard back. The last owner let it expire without telling me even though I offered to buy it. If anyone knows how to go about getting a domain that someone isn't paying attention to, please let me know.

Go daddy is pretty good with this, but I don't know who your using for you hosting/domain.

btw, I know how you feel. DAMN YOU CHARLESALEXANDER.COM owner!!!
post #17 of 25
On the .com it says "this site may be for sale"
post #18 of 25
^Everything is for sale.
post #19 of 25
^I can think of no better way for the soon-departing Conne to spend Kabbaz's money
post #20 of 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by j View Post
I have tried to contact the current owner of the .com and haven't heard back. The last owner let it expire without telling me even though I offered to buy it. If anyone knows how to go about getting a domain that someone isn't paying attention to, please let me know.

Good luck J. Domain squatters suck. That's why our domain has all the dashes in it. A freak in Texas is squatting on the one we should have and has a spam site running on it. It really really pisses me off.
post #21 of 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by skyman View Post
On the .com it says "this site may be for sale"
Yeah, I tried the contact info for the current owner with no response. I wonder if I can appeal to some higher authority, or if there is an agency that is good at this sort of thing.
post #22 of 25
styleforum.net is a cool sounding url. it's almost exclusive because most would look it up under .com and not find us.

styleforum.com sounds a little cheesy. im glad it's not us. dont get it j
post #23 of 25
J, you've probably already done this but here is their WHOIS info. Might provide some clues on who to contact. Link
post #24 of 25
Yeah, contacted them before. I got a bounce message, no such address. Wonder if I can appeal to ICANN to contact them under the "must have real contact info" rule?
post #25 of 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by j View Post
Yeah, contacted them before. I got a bounce message, no such address. Wonder if I can appeal to ICANN to contact them under the "must have real contact info" rule?

It's kinda strange they are playing hard to get. On the .com it's just a bunch of adverts and a big slogan at the top saying this domain may be for sale. That suggested to me contact me and come get it.
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:
  Return Home
  Back to Forum: General Chat
Styleforum › Forums › General › General Chat › Why not styleforum.com?