Originally Posted by foodguy
eggs are allowable under most vegetarian diets. not under vegan diets. but glad to amuse.
I believe that you are perpetuating a terminological inexactitude, eggs are not allowable under vegetarian diets. Ovo/lacto-ovo vegetarian diets yes. Also vegan is not just about food, it also includes the use or exploitation of animals. Vegan diet/vegetarian/strict vegetarian mean basically the same thing. So the term "vegan diet" just means vegetarian, if you include non-plant foods then you have a different beast thus lacto-ovo etc.
Personally I'm a meato-ovo-lacto vegetarian.