Originally Posted by montecristo#4
The rule is that if an unintentional handball puts the ball in a position where the team inadvertantly handling it gains an advantage, then it is a free kick/penalty. That criteria was CERTAINLY fulfilled in this case.
Unintentionally blocking the ball from going into the net does not mean putting, "the ball in a position where the team inadvertantly handling it gains an advantage". Here is the entire law from FIFA regarding awarding a penalty kick due to a hand ball, it's very simple.
"handles the ball deliberately (except for the goalkeeper within his own penalty area)"