or Connect

Posts by MrGoodBytes

I've picked up a lot of Criterion edition movies over the years. If nothing else, I love the additional attention to audio detail. Usually it's been picked up because it's been a movie on my list but lately it's been picking completely random movies just because of the Criterion name and expanding my horizon. I'd love some recommendations of non-US mainstream theater releases from their library.
when you say brazillian rosewood, I almost have to assume you are talking about bocote. I had been working in it for many years for any project I could. It's qualities are amazing, it handles extreme temperature cyclings well, it has a naturally oily finish that doesn't require any coating, and its colorations after a decade of sun exposure is unreal.... oh and it use to be stupidly cheap. I had wondered why my wood supplier suddenly stopped stocking it a few years...
For personal listening, I am a sucker for tivoli (or if it's at work, grado headphones). I got an A/V question. for my home theater I have Polk RTi12's all around and whatever the matching center channel is. It is nothing really fancy but they are decent speakers. I've blown out two mid-tier onkyo receivers with these speakers. Any recommendations on mid-tier receivers that can power these for movies and still have inputs like optical and stereo (and I feel dumb...
ok so I am getting to the point that the car I roll up in makes a difference professionally. I already have a dedicated road course car and a little honda hypermiller.... neither of those are going anywhere but I need something on the professional end. I'm a car guy: I have a penchant for modifying cars and I have a hard time giving up my clutch pedal. I will only buy new. Other than leather, I opt out of almost all non-performance options. Budget is about 50k... ...