or Connect

Posts by Northampton Novice

I haven't appealed to anyone, I have stated a widely accepted fact and provided an explanation. I didn't realise we were in Science Forum where I have to append citation, sources and references. Happy to provide them though, given its a fact lots of sources exist.Now you consider yourself part of the scientific community, but apparently I'm not???Hmm very scientific of you, making wild assumptions... I have an MSc in Chemical engineering and despite not progressing to a...
Actually it does according to the scientific community. That's why, water is called the universal solvent.Correct.Actually it's more molecular physics and would you believe it, applies to all disciplines of science.By the way, I did not term 'water the universal solvent' but I did use the term which was coined long before I was born.How have I contradicted myself? By using the word relative? By stating scientific fact you accuse me of seeking to confuse.You really are...
We'll actually it is - it's a scientific observation and is widely accepted as true.You seem to have provided a rudimentary explanation of the action by which compounds dissociate - this is not why water is termed the universal solvent. The term is based on the relative static permittivity indices and the phenomena of dielectric constant, where water holds the highest value of any known solvent.
An excellent investment
Completely agree dirt and dust are serious enemies of leather and major factors that lead directly to cracking.Conditioners that don't penetrate or indeed migrate within the leather exacerbate the situation no end.Solvents do dry leather, but there is no getting away from the fact that almost all products (a couple claim to be solvent free apparently, but I remain dubious) will contain at least one solvent. Whether you can smell them or not, as several can be odourless,...