or Connect

Posts by broken_oracle

I have ordered leather laces from White's before - can't compare them to Viberg's though as I have no experience with the latter brand. The White's leather laces are pretty robust, thick enough that speed hooks are anything but speedy the first few weeks. Obenaufing helps with the stiffness, and they have a very slight elasticity over the instep that makes long days on my feet more bearable. Also great if you're welding, as the sparks won't melt them through like nylon...
The woman on far right in the blue suit with grey vest = total babe. Pulls off the "I'm a woman, but it's a menswear convention so I'm gonna wear menswear" thing quite well, with just the right touch of humor.
I wear a 40L suit, bought a size 40 mackinaw vest some years ago. There's definitely room for layering beneath - if you'll be wearing it outdoors in truly cold parts of the country, as I do, that's probably a good idea. If not, and you'll just have it over a normal shirt (& undershirt?), I'd definitely go one size down.
"If anyone cares for a review of my specific build and the leather, I'd be happy to write another post." - @Neognosis Curious what you have to say about British Tan - it's on a shortlist of mine for any future lightduty-workboot builds.
durrr... I somehow completely missed the "CXL" in that post. Was thinking about getting another pair of BH's at 8" in brown or natural chromexcel to rotate out with my distressed smooth 6" BH at work. The latter get beat up enough already, maybe CXL's not the way to go.
I have no experience with Filson's soy wax material, but I wouldn't consider their tin cloth to necessarily be the gold standard. Though I love it still, my Tin Cruiser has been patched & rewaxed so many times it's approaching Theseus Paradox territory. I've only had it four years, so I find these claims of decades of use to be baffling. Perhaps it's the imported cotton fabric that's to blame?