or Connect

Posts by kasper007

I definitely don't think 28 is too old. as a matter of fact, it's actually the average age at most top schools. however, keep in mind that due to the nature of MBA recruiting , you're very unlikely to benefit from the extra year of work experience so i would encourage you to apply as soon as possible. I was 31 at matriculation (I graduated late at 25 due to a double major and an extended gap years + 6 years of work experience) and while I think age really isn't a factor...
I think the distance factor is something that many people don't properly consider when choosing a MBA. Pretty much only consulting firms (and banks to a certain extent) run on-campus global recruiting processes so while going to the best schools will open a lot of doors, it will still require multiple trips (sometimes / often on your own dime) to the places where you want to work. Choosing a school that is in or near your preferred location is a smart move. Although i...
i'm in my final year of my mba and can definitely attest to that. banking certainly doesn't have the pull on students it once had. outside of the relatively small group who truly wanted a banking job (did info sessions and coffee chats, etc) and who all got an offer, there were very few applicants. true that tech is attracting a lot of people, but so is buy-side finance and consulting. 75% of my class applied to McKinsey and almost 40% of the class is going to MBB... the...
shouldn't you start by asking the partners first before you ask the internet???that being said, very few firms have associates source deals. some growth equity firms (summit, TA) are notorious for having their associates spend a significant portion of their time cold calling, but it's generally the partners' job to originate deals. search funds are probably the closest thing in the microcap space and cold calling / sending letter, etc to literally thousands of firms is...