or Connect

Posts by Inks

Didn't know if there was such a thing as a 'Mod watch'. The whole Mod-Suedehead style is pretty short on accessories/jewellery etc. I suppose the scooters were accessories of sorts. The only watches I remember as a lad were the black-dial military-looking Timex if any. Anyway, I collect and fart about with watches. I would say I'm an amateur horologist, but I manage to bollox-up more watches I attempt to modify than actually fix. So, here's my Mod-homage watch I knocked...
Type in 'ICI fibres 1970' into youtube and witness an absolute style-nightmare. People make a lot of fuss about the fur-trade and Minks. Lest we forget Crimplene, and all those poor Crimples that suffered. (Copyright Big Yin)
Growing up as a child in the 70s as I did, Orlon was definitely the worst. The only man-made-cloth specifically manufactured to replicate the effect of stinging-nettles, itching-powder and Red Ants on the skin, into one handy fabric.
Trevira is probably superb used in an over-shirt, cardie, jacket or in a wool-blend. But in it's 100% form as a 'close-to-skin' polo shirt (in my experience), it' was like wearing a Scotch-Brite covered in Clingfilm. Saying that, my Trevira polo shirt is bloody nice looking. Shame it turns me in to an itchy sweat-machine.
My Mod-ish, Trevira polo shirt. It looks kind of nice, but is uncomfortable to wear. Terrible fabric. It's scratchy, makes you sweat like hell and generates a dangerous amount of static electricity.
Carnaby St is better now than it was in the late 80s/90s (when it was pretty much souvenir shops selling London tat), which isn't saying much. It now looks like an outdoor micro-version of Westfield or Bluewater, with the same sterile, overpriced 'designer' stores.