Posts by cemi1988

again - i don't mean to offend you, but you haven't provided anything other than hearsay accounts of your conversations with op-shop managers and your interpretation of how they perceive you.  my original point remains.  if op-shops exist to to make money to support services provided by the charity running the shop - wouldn't it be better for items to be segregated at the depot into two categories - those items that can reasonably be expected to be resold on ebay for the...
my post was only directed at you insofar as you made a definitive statement about why op-shop exists. i disagree with you, and whether i'm right or wrong, this is a forum.   i'll openly admit i'm biased, my mother is from a very poor background and her views on charity donations etc has shaped my views on this type of thing growing up. that said, i have no knowledge or experience on the economics of op-shops.    fwiw i also don't share the view that it is the op-shop...
what about the ethics of selling something you buy at an op shop? rightly or wrongly i think it's concerning that people habitually hunt through op shops and buy all the decent stuff for pennies on the dollar and the flog it off for a profit. i don't think when people make the well intentioned decision to donate an expensive item with plenty of life left in it they contemplate someone is going to buy it for $x and flip it on ebay for at least $3x. particularly when it's...
been a while since i had anything altered. today i was quoted the following $135 to let out a jacket waist. have no idea whether this is reasonable as I can't remember prices. is this a reasonable price? silk saddle $65 and shorten trouser (no cuff) $25 - these seem reasonable.
deleted
i don't agree, but the main point was that you hadn't in fact listened to the comments or turned your mind to their context before forming a view on them.