or Connect

Posts by JLibourel

"No worsted odd jackets!" Now that's a new one on me, and I have been participating in this forum for almost 10 years. Sometimes I think people make up these curious "rules" out of sheer devilment. Smooth worsteds can make fine odd jackets. I have several blazers from smooth worsted that I cherish. I likewise cherish a couple of sport coats made from the now-defunct Porter & Harding Solway collection. Try to take away my Hardy Worsted Alsport jacket, and I'll kill you! I...
Well, if you fancy the jacket in light gray, why not just get the matching trousers and wear the whole thing as a suit? It could easily be dressed down for casual situations where you would wish to pair the jacket with navy slacks. As to pairing it with the navy pants, my judgement would be neither "great" nor "terrible" but just sort of "innocuous." Be advised that there are no few individuals on this forum, who include some "heavy hitters," who are adamantly opposed to...
Yeah, that one got me too. I do not own any linen ties and only a couple of cotton ties, but I have quite a few wool, wool-silk blend and textured silk ties, and they do very definitely ratchet down the formality of the suit in much the same manner that a button down shirt does. I am not saying that either the BD shirt or the textured tie are necessarily wrong with a suit, but I will eschew both if I really want to be "dressed to the nines."
^Potent stuff, snake venom--a real witches' brew of nasty toxins. An unpleasant fact is that rattlesnake venom in the USA has become a good deal more toxic in recent decades. There are several theories about this--transmittal from the extremely toxic Mojave rattlesnake through hybridization, or that the snakes are in an "arms race" with prey species of rodents that are developing more immunity or resistance to venom.